Sarah M[uir] Galloway


John Muir


image preview


[6]San Francisco. Mother has not been as well as usual during the changeable weather this spring. some days quite poorly and then able to walk out and seem about as usual again, generally she enjoys very comfortable health for one of her age and we are so thankful. Joanna and the children are well. Walter is working for a salary now $60.00 per mo. Traveling for a lumber company, so I think they are getting along better now, they are still in the same house as when you were here. I suppose you are still writing, when will your next book come out?My health is better this spring, so I work out in the yard and garden as usual. With much love to you all I am AffectionatelySarah M. Galloway


Portage, Wis

Date Original



Original letter dimensions: 20 x 12.5 cm.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 08, Image 1007

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 4


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle