John Muir


Louie [Wanda Muir]


image preview


[Page 2] mail. One of the first things I did this morning was to purchase a ticket for New York, so I shall soon be once more at home I hope,, and beneath the stars and stripes after which seems a long range of travel in Norway, Belgium, Germany Switzerland, France & Britain. I sail August 16th from Liverpool on the Campania. Tomorrow I am going to Keiv to see Joseph Hooker if I can find him. Then to Edinburgh & the north of Scotland & Melrose Scotts country. Then to Dunbar again, then with Maggie Lunam I mean to go to Liverpool to visit my cousins the two Hays architects who live near there and are anxious to see the great man as they call me. Then of course to New York


London [England]

Date Original

1893 Aug 28


Original letter dimensions: 20 x 13 cm.

Resource Identifier

1893 Aug 28 JM to Louie

File Identifier

MSS 301 Shone

Copyright Statement

The unpublished works of John Muir are copyrighted by the Muir-Hanna Trust. To purchase copies of images and/or obtain permission to publish or exhibit them, see

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Copyright Holder

Muir-Hanna Trust

Copyright Date


Page Number

1893 Aug 28 JM to Louie p2


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle