John Muir


Louie [Wanda Muir]


image preview


[Page 2] and far Alaska. I suppose, of course, you have received my Edinburgh letter telling the fine time with David Douglas. I mean to leave here next Monday for the Highlands, and then go to Norway and Switzerland. I am stopping with my cousin, who, with her daughter lives in a handsome cottage just outside of town. They are very cordial and take me to all the best places and people, and pet me in grand style, but I must on and away or my vacation time will be past ere I leave Scotland. At Haddington I visited Joanie Welch Carlyle grave in the old abbey. Here are two daisies or gowans that grew beside it. I was on a visit yesterday to a farmer's family three miles from town — friends of the Lunams


Dunbar, Scotland

Date Original

1893 Jul 12


Original letter dimensions: 18 x 22 cm.

Resource Identifier

1893 July 12 JM to Louie

File Identifier

MSS 301 Shone

Copyright Statement

The unpublished works of John Muir are copyrighted by the Muir-Hanna Trust. To purchase copies of images and/or obtain permission to publish or exhibit them, see

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Copyright Holder

Muir-Hanna Trust

Copyright Date


Page Number

1893 July 12 JM to Louie p2


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle