[Ann G. Muir]


Daniel [ H. Muir]


image preview


[2]I sincerely hope you have found a place, where you can earn a living, and have a home and settle down comfortably Margt and her husband and baby has been visiting round here for a week - and Sarah and her husband and children came while they were here - we had a pleasant time - but they were all surprised that you had not wrote to any of them but were glad to hear about you Margt and Sarah has each had a letter from John and he is well and very comfortably settled for this summer. The weather is intensely hot, and Joanna and I are half sick with[3]the heat - June 4th Anne came home on friday and will return tomorrow morning again to her school she took cold about four weeks ago - and has rather a hard cough yet - and she has grown very thin. she walks one and a half miles to school and I think it too much for her - but her boarding place is so pleasant that she hates to change her cough is not quite so hard and dry now, but I think it continues too long. could you prescribe any thing for her that would help her to get rid of this cough - if you can - will you write to her, as soon as convenient - her address


[ Hickory Hill, Wisc.?]

Date Original

1871 Jun 1


Original letter dimensions unknown.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 02, Image 0455

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

The Huntington Library. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 2


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle