Ann Gilrye Muir


Mother [Ann Gilrye Muir]


John Muir


Portage May 2d 1880Dear JohnI do heartily congratulate you on your new found happiness and trust it will increase as years pass on. The box you so kindly sent has been received — and its contents much appreciated by all the numerous members of our family. Daniel has sold his property in Racine and has gone to Nebraska about three weeks ago – he came

[Page 2]

home and spent a week with us before leaving. The rest of your friends here are in there usual health. I send my most earnest loving greetings to you and your wife – and would be most happy to meet you both It gives me much pleasure to think of your increased happiness – hoping you will write soon Lovingly Mother00913


Portage, [Wisc]

Date Original

1880 May 2


Original letter dimensions: 15 x 12.5 cm.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 04, Image 0143

Collection Identifier

Online finding aid for the microform version of the John Muir Correspondence

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

Holt-Atherton Special Collections, University of the Pacific Library. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.


2 pages


Environmentalist, naturalist, travel, conservation, national parks, John Muir, Yosemite, California, history, correspondence, letters



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.