Harry A. Varnell


John Muir


image preview


00317 Chicago Sunday Jan 25th, 1863 Friend John Muir As it is sunday evening I will try to write you a few lines and let you know how we all are I am well and expect to start to school tomorrow I have been to work to palmers for two dollars a week. Father and Mother are well but mother has been sick but is about well now Father is to work at the Butcher Buisnes he is doing very well it is as warm as Summer here now not a bit of snow is to be found and as muddy as it can be this is awful sickning weather persons are dying every day and mourning on four or five houses every day I have got a nice little French pony and a [tuf?] one two on the south side thare is a large skating pond it costs $2.00 a ticket or 25 cts to come in once If you get a ticket you can skate all winter and any time you want P has gone to church and mother has got the head ache or she would write give my love to Dave and Joanna. Mother sends her respects to you and would be glad to hear from you I live at No 41 4th Avenue between


Chicago, [Illinois]

Date Original

1863 Jan 25


Original letter dimensions: 24.5 x 19.0 cm

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 01, Image 0473

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 1


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle