H[enry] S. Butler


John Muir


image preview


Madison, April 28. 1866.Dear Mr Muir. I was very glad to hear from you once more, and to find that you were in the United States. I was very sorry to hear of your troubles, and the fire, though that bought you nearer to me once more. I wish very much to see you in Madison, and on the College hill picking flowers, or making a wooden clock, or bed I would like to see you swimming in the Lake. I wish you could see our new home, Lakewood cottage, between Dr. Carr's and the Lake. It is very pleasant. I used to live in Indiana - In Crawfordsville, where my Father was Professer in Wabash College, It is about 40 miles from you. I went there when I was six months old, and left when I was 4 years. My brother is home attending the Commercial School. My sisters are well- Anna remembers you, and sends her love to you, as does my mother. I do not know as I can remember the best dream I ever had, but I have had a great many good ones-


Madison [Wisc.]

Date Original

1866 Apr 28


Original letter dimensions: 24.5 x 19.0 cm

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 01, Image 0812

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 1


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle