William B. Knop


John Muir


image preview


[4]and rooster, they eat out of my hand every day. I like out-door life very much. Mother, father, sister, and myself had a good laugh over the dead doctors ghost.My father was born in Ireland, in a little town named Strabane, and later moved to Armagh. He came to this Country when he was nine years old.Yours very trulyWilliam B. Knop.05354[1]Jan 16th 1913.32 Woodland Ave.New Rochelle,New YorkDear Mr. Muir-.We all have enjoyed reading the story of your boy-hood, in the Atlantic Monthley. What you would call a scoocher I would call a great deed.Sister almost cried when


New Rochelle, N. Y.

Date Original

1913 Jan 16


Original letter dimensions: 12.5 x 19 cm.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 21, Image 0051

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

University of the Pacific Library Holt-Atherton Special Collections. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 1


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle