Sarah M[uir] Galloway


[Daniel and Emma Muir]


image preview


a stay of a week or so, they too had been spending the summer in Washington and other places. Jeanie Foster, Mrs G[illegible], her husband and little girl, also Mrs Jas. Foster made a short visit and another man and his wife, he had been a clerk in the store. and now on the 19th of this month, David Galbraith and wife are expected. You will remember the family as among the early settlers in the Town of Buffalo. his wife was Flora Wilson - that family were neighbors too, they seem to be well off andtraveling for pleasure this winter. I had a letter from [illegible] G.E. yesterday she is in usual health the others well. Kenneth is attending school and walks a half mile to get there. his Father will either take him or he will stay at home in bad weather, but he seems to enjoy it and is getting on well Marjorie is rather lonesome without him, but I suppose she will go too next summer, as she will be six years old then. [illegible] & Grace are still in the same Office in Chicago, Grace's health is better than it has been.


Martinez, Calif.

Date Original

1900 Dec 14


Original letter dimensions unknown.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 11, Image 0487

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

The Huntington Library, Muir Family Papers, HM 57349-57497. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 4


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle