Sarah M[uir] Galloway


Emma [Muir]


image preview


[1]Portage Wis. Nov- 4 /96My dear Sister EmmaI have been thinking how lonely you must be, and am wondering if you are feeling better and how you are all getting on. I hope that your health is improved and that the family are well. I have not heard anything from brother Daniel for some time, he must be feeling terribly lonely too. Most people are hoping that under the new administration the country will see better times, I hope and pray that there may be a change in that direction. You will have fine schools in Hillsdale2I have know those who have attended there, is it a pretty place, and do you like living there? Well Emma you have your children all about you, and that is a great comfort. My girls have been away from home a great deal. I have not seen Grace for more than a year. she and Celia went to Valparaiso, to the Normal School there a year ago just in Sept. in the spring when they left there Celia came home and Grace got a position in Chicago as Stenographer. She has been fortunate in her position and also in having a good boarding place, she likes her work, too, and seems to be satisfied. she does not think


Portage, Wisc.

Date Original



Original letter dimensions unknown.

Resource Identifier


File Identifier

Reel 09, Image 0476

Copyright Statement

Some letters written to John Muir may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Owning Institution

The Huntington Library, Muir Family Papers, HM 57349-57497. Please contact this institution directly to obtain copies of the images or permission to publish or use them beyond educational purposes.

Page Number

Page 1


John Muir, correspondence, letters, author, writing, naturalist, California, correspondent, mail, message, post, exchange of letters, missive, notes, epistle