Creator

Delia Locke

Preview

image preview

Transcription

1877. Aug. 7. Tuesday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 89. S.S. 79.) Aug. 8. Wednesday. (T.S.R. 55. 2 P.M. 90. S.S. 80.) Aug. 9. Thursday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 91. S.S. 82.) Aug. 10. Friday. Mrs. Renner has a little babe - girl - born on Nettie Ross' fourth birthday. Pleasant weather. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 86. S.S. 76.) Aug. 11. Saturday. We have received a letter from Howard. He and Sarah enter the same class in the Normal - the Junior A. and the same that Ada did though as the course is now extended to three years instead of two, they are perhaps a trifle in advance of her. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 90. S.S. 81.) Aug. 12. Sabbath. We have attended S. school today as usual. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 92. S.S. 82.) Aug. 13. Monday. School commenced again today with Mr. Ambrose and Miss Howe as teachers. All the children are now at school but Ada, who is still at home from teaching, and Eunice, who is today three years old. She weighs thirty pounds and is two feet and eleven inches in height. She is just as tall as Hannah and Ida were, which is taller than Mary and Willard were. Her weight is also the same as Ida's and Mary's, which is more than Hannah's was. She is very forward in talking and singing, and loves to play visit with Hannah and other little girls. She will knock at the door, come in, shake hands and say, How is your health today, pretty well? She talks plainly and uses good grammar, also learns many of the words to songs. I think she resembles Ada very much at the same age and her hair is the same color, only her eyes are brighter. I have written to Howard today. (T.S.R. 62. 2 P.M. 92. S.S. 83.) Aug. 14. Tuesday. (T.S.R. 59. 2 P.M. 89. S.S. 82. Aug. 15. Wednesday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 91. S.S. 80.) Aug. 16. Thursday. Received another letter from Howard. H. is interested in school. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 89. S.S. 77.) Aug. 17. Friday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 87. S.S. 77.) Aug. 18. Saturday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 84. S.S. 72.) 1877. Aug. 19. Sabbath. We have attended meeting as usual. This forenoon, a Baptist minister Mr. Spanswick preached from the text. "We are laborers together with God. "This eve, Mr. Ross preached. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 80. S.S. 72.) Aug. 20. Monday. (T.S.R. 51. 2 P.M. 83. S.S. 76.) Aug. 21. Tuesday. I have written to Luther today. Dr. started for Butte Co. to see Mr. Hetfield, who, we understand is visiting his brother-in-law there. (T.S.R. 54. 2 P.M. 80. S.S. 78.) Aug. 22. Wednesday. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 85. S.S. 76.) Aug. 23. Thursday. (T.S.R. 54. 2 P.M. 82. S.S. 76.) Aug. 24. Friday. (T.S.R. 60. 2 P.M. 85. S.S. 75.) Aug. 25. Saturday. Dr. arrived home having had a tiresome journey, but having accomplished the object of his visit, which was to see Mr. Hetfield. He found him in an out of - the - way place in the mountains, seeking health. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 84. S.S. 78.) Aug. 26. Sabbath. Have attended the S.S. as usual. (T.S.R. 57. 2 P.M. 87. S.S. 81.) Aug. 27. (T.S.R. 54. 2 P.M. 85. S.S. 80.) Aug. 28. Tuesday. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 85. S.S. 75.) Aug. 29. Wednesday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 78. S.S. 72.) Aug. 30. Thursday. (T.S.R. 55. 2 P.M. 84. S.S. 79.) Aug. 31. Friday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 89. S.S. 82.) Sept. 1. Saturday. (T.S.R. 58. 2 P.M. 87. S.S. 80.) Sept. 2. Sabbath. We have attended meeting as usual. Mr. Stewart preached from the text," O wretched man that I am", etc. (T.S.R. 56. 2 P.M. 86. S.S. 79.) Sept. 3. Monday. (T.S.R. 55. 2 P.M. 93. S.S. 85.) Sept. 4. Tuesday. Nora Miller came to help us with the housework. Now that the girls go to school, we find it necessary to have more help. (T.S.R. 60. 2 P.M. 94. S.S. 88.) Sept. 5. Wednesday. This is election day. (T.S.R. 62. 2 P.M. 88. S.S. 78.) Sept. 6. Thursday. (T.S.R. 59. 2 P.M. 84. S.S. 80.) Sept. 7. Friday. Wrote to Howard. (T.S.R. 57. 2 P.M. 86. S.S. 84.) Sept. 8. Saturday. Wrote to Eliza. (T.S.R. 59. 2 P.M. 94. S.S. 86.) Sept. 9. Sabbath. I was not able to attend meeting today.

Date Original

January 1877

Source

Original diary dimensions: 22 x 33 cm.

Resource Identifier

Locke_Diary_1875-1879_Image090.tif

Publisher

Holt-Atherton Special Collections, University of the Pacific Library

Rights Management

To view additional information on copyright and related rights of this item, such as to purchase copies of images and/or obtain permission to publish them, click here to view the Holt-Atherton Special Collections policies.

Keywords

Delia Locke, diaries, women, diarist, California, Locke-Hammond Family Papers, Lockeford, CA, Dean Jewett Locke, rural life, rural California, 19th Century, church, temperance organizations, Mokelumne River Ladies' Sewing Circle, temperature recordings, journal

Share

COinS